Friday, December 30, 2016

NHL Central Scouting High On Taylor:

This is in todays Morning Star Newspaper:

NHL Central Scouting high on Taylor

Dec 30, 2016

Morning Star/BCHL Media

Vernon Vipers rookie goalie Ty Taylor will play in the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s Prospects Game Jan. 25 at Ed Lumley Arena in Cornwall, Ont.

NHL Central Scouting announced Tuesday the rosters for the upcoming classic featuring the top-40 CJHL prospects heading into the 2017 NHL Draft in Chicago.

“We congratulate each of the players on their selection to compete in the 2017 CJHL Prospects Game in Cornwall and commend NHL Central Scouting for their contributions in helping formalize the Team East and Team West rosters,” said CJHL President Brent Ladds.

“We are confident this group of young men will provide all those in attendance, including the multitude of scouts and Junior A hockey fans alike, a tremendous showcase of CJHL talent from right across the country.”

Taylor, a towering 17-year-old out of Richmond, is 9-7 with a 3,19 GAA and .899 save percentage with the Vipers. He compiled a 1.46 GAA and. 946 save percentage with the Delta Hockey Academy Midget Prep team last year.

Taylor and the Vipers host the Salmon Arm Silverbacks Thursday night at Kal Tire Place. The Vipers returned to practice Tuesday after an 11-day holiday break. They also hold a workout Wednesday at 1:45 p.m.

The two Prospects Game rosters were headed up by Central Scouting director, Dan Marr.

“The CJHL Prospects Game is a tremendous opportunity for these players to showcase their ability and represent their teams, leagues and communities on a national stage,” said Marr.

Also representing Team West from the BCHL are: defencemen Griffin Mendel of the Penticton Vees and Cory Babichuk of the Surrey Eagles, forwards Parm Dhaliwal of the West Kelowna Warriors, Kale Howarth of the Trail Smoke Eaters, Marcus Mitchell of the Salmon Arm Silverbacks, Michael Regush of the Merritt Centennials, Jamie Rome of the Victoria Grizzlies and Tyler Ward of the Cents.

The President’s Cup is awarded to the winning team in the CJHL Prospects Game.

From 2005 until 2008, the event ran as a single game, but starting in 2009 the President’s Cup was played as a two-game series where the combined score of the games determined the winner of the title.

The contest has now gone back to a single-game format along with on-ice player testing having been introduced.

Since its inception, Team West has won six times while Team East has won five.

No comments: