Saturday, April 7, 2018

Wild Third Interior Team Since 2002 To Advance To League Finals Other Then Vipers-Vees:

For the first time in fourteen seasons someone other then the Vernon Vipers or Penticton Vees were playing in the Interior Division Finals. You have to go all the way back to the 2003-04 season to see someone other then Vernon or Penticton in the Interior Division Finals. In 2003-04 saw the Salmon Arm Silverbacks win their first and only Interior Conference Championship with a series win over the Williams Lake Timberwolves. 

Last night the Wenatchee Wild clinched their first Interior Division Title in five games over the Trail Smoke Eaters. The Wild will now advance to the Fred Page Cup for the first time in franchise history. The Wild in their first season in the Interior Division, become just the third team to win the Interior Division Championship other then the Vernon Vipers or Penticton Vees since 2004. Since the 2003-04 season only Salmon Arm, West Kelowna & now Wenatchee are the only three teams other then Vernon or Penticton to win the Ryan Hatfield Memorial Trophy. 

Since the 1995-96 season only four teams have won the Interior Division Championship other then the Vernon Vipers or Penticton Vees. Merritt-2001, Salmon Arm-2004, West Kelowna-2016 & Wenatchee-2018

Since the 2001-02 season the Wenatchee Wild are just the third team (West Kelowna, Salmon Arm & Wenatchee) from the Interior Division to advance to the league finals other then the Vernon Vipers or Penticton Vees.

The Wenatchee Wild become just the second US based team to reach the BCHL Finals. The last US based team to reach the league finals was the Bellingham Ice Hawks who were swept by the Vernon Lakers in the 1992 BCJHL Finals. The last & only US based team to win the BCHL Championship was the 1975 & 1979 Bellingham Blazers.

Past winners since 1996 of the Ryan Hatfield Memorial Trophy:

2016West Kelowna Warriors
2015Penticton Vees
2014Vernon Vipers
2013Penticton Vees
2012Penticton Vees
2011Vernon Vipers
2010Vernon Vipers
2009Vernon Vipers
2008Penticton Vees
2007Vernon Vipers
2006Penticton Vees
2005Vernon Vipers
2004Salmon Arm SilverBacks
2003Vernon Vipers
2002Vernon Vipers
2001Merritt Centennials
2000Vernon Vipers
1999Vernon Vipers
1998Penticton Panthers
1997Vernon Vipers
1996Vernon Vipers

Past winners since 2002 of the Fred Page Cup:

2017Penticton Vees4-3 over Chilliwack Chiefs
2016West Kelowna Warriors4-2 over Chilliwack Chiefs
2015Penticton Vees4-2 over Nanaimo Clippers
2014Coquitlam Express4-0 over Vernon Vipers
2013Surrey Eagles4-2 over Penticton Vees
2012Penticton Vees4-0 over Powell River Kings
2011Vernon Vipers4-0 over Powell River Kings
2010Vernon Vipers4-3 over Powell River Kings
2009Vernon Vipers4-2 over Powell River Kings
2008Penticton Vees4-0 over Nanaimo Clippers
2007Nanaimo Clippers4-2 over Vernon Vipers
2006Burnaby Express4-2 over Penticton Vees
2005Surrey Eagles4-1 over Vernon Vipers
2004Nanaimo Clippers4-1 over Salmon Arm SilverBacks
2003Vernon Vipers4-0 over Chilliwack Chiefs
2002Chilliwack Chiefs4-2 over Vernon Vipers

No comments: