Friday, May 10, 2019

Ten Year's Ago Today....

It was ten years ago today, May 10th 2009 the Vernon Vipers won their third Royal Bank Cup/fifth National Championship (Centennial Cup/Royal Bank Cup).

2009 Royal Bank Cup Recap:

The Vernon Vipers finished with with a regular season record of 42-14-1-2 top spots in the Interior Division & #2 overall in the BCHL. Here’s a rundown on how the Vipers did through out the BCHL’s Playoffs to advance to the teams record seventh National Championship.

Here are the highlight's from the 2009 RBC Cup in Victoria, BC where the Vipers defeated Humbolt 2-0 in the finals

1st Round Bye
2nd Round: Defeated Penticton 4-1
Interior Conference Finals: Defeated Salmon Arm 4-2
BCHL Fred Page Cup: Defeated Powell River 4-2
Doyle Cup: Defeated Grande Prairie 4-0
Royal Bank Cup: (6-0 In Round Robin) Defeated Humboldt 2-0 In Final

The 2009 Royal Bank Cup is the Junior "A" 2009 ice hockey National Championship for the Canadian Junior Hockey League. 2009 marked the 14th year the Royal Bank Cup has been awarded and the 39th year of modern Junior "A" hockey.

The Royal Bank Cup was competed for by the winners of the Doyle Cup, Anavet Cup, Dudley Hewitt Cup, the Fred Page Cup and the host city, the Victoria Grizzlies of the British Columbia Hockey League.

The tournament was hosted by the Victoria Grizzlies and run from May 2 to May 10 of 2009 with games played at the Bear Mountain Arena in Victoria, British Columbia.

The Vernon Vipers won the 2009 Royal Bank Cup with a 2-0 win over the Humboldt Broncos.


Victoria Grizzlies (Host) - The Grizzlies are the hosts of the 2009 Royal Bank Cup. The Grizzlies finished the British Columbia Hockey League regular season with both the best record in the Coastal Conference and the overall league. Victoria ran into a tough Powell River Kings team in the Conference Final, where the Grizzlies fell in Game 7.
Regular Season: 43 wins, 13 losses, 1 ties, 3 overtime losses

Playoffs: Defeated Cowichan Valley Capitals 4-3, Lost to Powell River Kings 3-4

Humboldt Broncos (Western) - The Broncos are the defending 2008 Royal Bank Cup champions. After easily brushing through the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League playoffs, the Broncos found themselves down 3-games-to-1 in the Anavet Cup to the Manitoba Junior Hockey League's Portage Terriers. The Broncos came to life in Game 5 to win 12-2, they won Game 6 in Overtime, and in Game 7 they rallied from a three goal deficit in the third period to force overtime to win the Anavet Cup in the extra frame.

Regular Season: 45 wins, 8 losses, 1 overtime loss, 2 shootout losses
Playoffs: Defeated Battlefords North Stars 4-2, Defeated Flin Flon Bombers 4-0, Defeated Melville Millionaires 4-1, Defeated Portage Terriers (MJHL) 4-3

Kingston Voyageurs (Central) - The Voyageurs, the top team in the Ontario Junior Hockey League's Rudduck Division, battled through five rounds of league playoffs to win the Ruddock Division crown, the Conference championship, and the Buckland Cup as OJHL champions. At the Dudley Hewitt Cup in Schreiber, Ontario, the Voyageurs defeated the Superior International Junior Hockey League's Fort William North Stars 4-1 in the tournament final.

Regular Season: 36 wins, 9 losses, 1 overtime loss, 3 shootout losses
Playoffs: Defeated Pickering Panthers 3-1, Defeated Ajax Attack 4-0, Defeated Peterborough Stars 4-2, Defeated Huntsville Otters 4-1, Defeated Oakville Blades 4-2, Won Dudley Hewitt Cup (3-1)

Summerside Western Capitals (Eastern) - The Capitals finished the 2008-09 regular season with the best record in the Maritime Junior A Hockey League. Summerside had little problem battling through the three rounds of Maritime League playoffs to move on to the Fred Page Cup in Moncton, New Brunswick. The Capitals defeated the Dieppe Commandos in the tournament final 3-2 in double overtime, pelting their goaltender with 71 shots on net before finally taking their place in the 2009 Royal Bank Cup.

Regular Season: 39 wins, 13 losses, 2 shootout losses
Playoffs: Defeated Dieppe Commandos 4-0, Defeated Miramichi Timberwolves 4-0, Defeated Truro Bearcats 4-1, Won Fred Page Cup (4-1)

Vernon Vipers (Pacific) - The Vipers were the top team in the British Columbia Hockey League's Interior Conference and second best overall behind Victoria. The Vipers convincingly walked through the BCHL playoffs, defeating all three of their opponents to win the League championship. In the Doyle Cup, the Viper made quick work of the Alberta Junior Hockey League's Grande Prairie Storm with a 4-games-sweep to clinch their spot in the 2009 Royal Bank Cup.

Regular Season: 42 wins, 14 losses, 1 tie, 3 overtime losses
Playoffs: Defeated Penticton Vees 4-1, Defeated Salmon Arm Silverbacks 4-2, Defeated Powell River Kings 4-2, Defeated Grande Prairie Storm (AJHL) 4-0


Round Robin

Rank Team League Ticket W–L GF GA
1 x-Vernon Vipers BCHL Doyle Cup 4–0 24 12
2 x-Humboldt Broncos SJHL Anavet Cup 2–2 8 15
3 x-Victoria Grizzlies BCHL Host 2–2 16 10
4 x-Kingston Voyageurs OJHL Dudley Hewitt Cup 1–3 14 23
5 Summerside Western Capitals MJAHL Fred Page Cup 1–3 15 17

(x-) denotes Semi-final birth.

Game Home Team Score Away Team Score Notes

Saturday, May 2, 2009

1 Victoria Grizzlies 1 Humboldt Broncos 2 Final - Shots: 35-34 Hum

Sunday, May 3, 2009

2 Summerside Western Capitals 2 Vernon Vipers 4 Final - Shots: 38-21 Ver
3 Kingston Voyageurs 0 Victoria Grizzlies 5 Final - Shots: 40-21 Vic

Monday, May 4, 2009

4 Summerside Western Capitals 5 Kingston Voyageurs 7 Final - Shots: 50-28 SWC
5 Vernon Vipers 7 Humboldt Broncos 1 Final - Shots: 30-20 Ver

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

6 Vernon Vipers 5 Victoria Grizzlies 4 OT Final - Shots: 32-32 Even

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

7 Humboldt Broncos 5 Kingston Voyageurs 2 Final - Shots: 34-23 Hum
8 Victoria Grizzlies 6 Summerside Western Capitals 3 Final - Shots: 41-32 Vic

Thursday, May 7, 2009

9 Kingston Voyageurs 5 Vernon Vipers 8 Final - Shots: 33-21 Ver
10 Humboldt Broncos 0 Summerside Western Capitals 5 Final - Shots: 35-18 SWC

Friday, May 8, 2009

11 Vernon Vipers 6 Kingston Voyageurs 3 Final - Shots: 34-16 Ver
12 Humboldt Broncos 3 Victoria Grizzlies 2 OT Final - Shots: 40-30 Vic

Sunday, May 10, 2009

13 Vernon Vipers 2 Humboldt Broncos 0 Final - Shots: 27-24 Hum


Roland Mercier Trophy (Tournament MVP): Kyle Bigos (Vernon Vipers)
Top Forward: Connor Jones (Vernon Vipers)
Top Defencemen: Kyle Bigos (Vernon Vipers)
Top Goaltender: Anthony Grieco (Victoria Grizzlies)
Tubby Smaltz Trophy (Sportsmanship): Ryan Santana (Vernon Vipers)

Role of League Champions

AJHL: Grande Prairie Storm
BCHL: Vernon Vipers
CJHL: Pembroke Lumber Kings
MJHL: Portage Terriers
MJAHL: Summerside Western Capitals
NOJHL: Soo Thunderbirds
OPJHL: Kingston Voyageurs
QJAAAHL: Sherbrooke Cougars
SJHL: Humboldt Broncos
SIJHL: Fort William North Stars

Vernon Vipers Roster:

Kevin Kraus
Kyle Bigos
Cody Ikkala
Mike Collins
Mike Leidl
Cameron Brodie
James Kerr
Connor Jones
Cory Kane
Cole Ikkala
Braden Pimm
Kellen Jones
Sahir Gill
Chris Crowell (Captain)
Rob Short
Kory Roy
Steve Weinstein
Nick Amies
Bryce Kakoske
Ryan Santana
Adam Thompson
Andrew Hammond
Graeme Gordon

Owner & President Duncan Wray
GM & Head Coach Mark Ferner
Assistant Coach Jason Williamson
Trainer/Equipment Manager Andrew Wautier
Trainer/Massage Therapist Lon Fraser

Please visit Paul's Vernon Junior Hockey History website,

No comments: