Sunday, June 21, 2020

Icemen Add Former Vipers Shiplo & Martin To Teams Protected List:

The ECHL announced their Protected Lists as submitted by each of its member teams. The Jacksonville Icemen have twenty four players listed on their protected list, two of the twenty four players are former Vernon Vipers defenceman Luke Shiplo & former Vernon Vipers forward forward Craig Martin.

Shiplo started the 2019-20 season with the ECHL Wichita Thunder before being traded to Jacksonville December 9th 2019. In 17 games with the Thunder Shiplo recorded (1-goal-5-assists-6-points). In 40 games with the Icemen Shiplo recorded (3-goals-17-assists-20-points).

Shiplo spent the past four seasons at Quinnipiac University before signing his first professional contract with the ECHL Wichita Thunder July 17 2019. 

Shiplo played one season in Vernon with the 2014-15 Vipers. In 50 games with the Vipers Shiplo collected (5-goals-39-assists-44-points).

To continue reading, Please click the "read more" button below,

Luke Shiplo's Player Profile:

Martin started the 2019-20 season with the ECHL Adirondack Thunder before being traded to Jacksonville November 26th 2019. Martin had two points in seven games with the Thunder. In 41 games with the Icemen Martin collected ((7-goals-14-assists-21-points).

Martin spent the past four seasons at Quinnipiac University (2015-2019) before signing his first professional contract with the American Hockey League Springfield Thunderbirds April 2nd 2019. Martin signed an amateur tryout with the Thunderbirds, didn't play a single game before being released. The ECHL Adirondack Thunder signed Martin July 8th 2019. 

Martin played parts of two seasons in Vernon (2012-2014) was traded to Alberni Valley along with future considerations for Jared Wilson on October 1st 2013.  In 46 career games with the Vipers Martin collected (10-goals-13-assists-23-points). Martin also played with Trail & Alberni Valley.

Craig Martin's Player Profile:

This was posted on the Icemen website:

Icemen Announce 2020 Protected List

03 Jun 2020

JACKSONVILLE, FL – The Jacksonville Icemen announced Monday their protected list of players. The list of 24 players is comprised of one goaltender, nine defensemen and 14 forwards. This is the first of a several-step process in which ECHL teams use to reserve the rights to ECHL contracted players for the 2020-21 season. Players under an AHL contract are not eligible to be added to this list. The Icemen have protected the following players:    

Goaltenders (1)

Ben Halford

Defensemen (9) 

Dajon Mingo
Jack Glover
Kyle Shapiro
Trey Phillips
Chris Lijdsman
Dalton Thrower
Chase Harrison
Luke Shiplo
Mitch Jones

Forwards (14)

Wacey Rabbit
Mike Hedden
Chase Lang
Everett Clark
Craig Martin
John Albert
Alex Kromm
Adam Dauda
Ian McKinnon
Zach Hall
Brendan Warren
Braylon Shmyr
Pierre-Luc Mercier
Matt Pohlkamp

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2019-20 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2019-20, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2019-20 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 12 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2019-20.
The Icemen and the City of Jacksonville will host the 2021 ECHL All-Star Classic on January 18, 2021 at Vystar Veterans Memorial Arena.  Season tickets memberships (full & partial season plans) for the Icemen’s All-Star Season which include tickets to the All-Star Classic are currently available!  Contact the Icemen at 904-602-7825, or visit online at

No comments: