Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Former Viper Sibbald Named Goaltender Of The Year:

Former Vernon Vipers goaltender, Mark Sibbald has been named goaltender of the year, while former Vernon Vipers goaltender, Jon Olthuis finished second in voting.  Olthuis played two seasons in Vernon (2004-2006) while Sibbald played two seasons in Vernon as well (2003-05) before playing four years at Brown University.

This is posted on the Havoc website:

Sibbald Named SPHL SBK Goaltender of the Year

Mar 29, 2011

Charlotte, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Tuesday announced that Mark Sibbald of the Huntsville Havoc has been selected as the SBK Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches and media representatives.

Augusta's Jon Olthuis was second in the voting while Fayetteville's Mike Spillane finished third.

Sibbald finished the regular season second among goaltenders with a 2.51 goals against average and fourth in save percentage (.915). Sibbald's two shutouts were also tied for third-best among SPHL netminders, while his 14 wins ranked fifth in the league.

SPHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2010-11 - Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc
2009-10 - Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge
2008-09 - Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08 - Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas
2006-07 - Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths
2005-06 - Terry Denike, Florida Seals
2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

No comments: