Sunday, July 3, 2016

Thunder Add Former Viper Goaltender Gore To Teams Protected List:

The East Coast Hockey League announced their Protected Lists as submitted by each of its member teams. The Adirondack Thunder have twenty six players listed on their protected list one is former Vernon Vipers goaltender Lucas Gore.

After four seasons with the University of Regina Gore signed with the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) Stockton Thunder on March 5th 2015. In 7 games with the Thunder Gore went 2-4-1 with a 4.37 GAA. Gore hasn't played hockey since the 2014-15 season with Stockton.

The Stockton Thunder was an affiliate team of the New York Islanders of the National Hockey League in their final two seasons, before the team was purchased by the Calgary Flames and relocated to Glens Falls, New York to and replaced by the Flames' American Hockey League team, the Stockton Heat. The Flames former American Hockey League team the Adirondack Flames moved to the East Coast Hockey League and now known as the Adirondack Thunder. 24 players who played with the Thunder in Stockton during the 2014-15 season made the move to Adirondack, one was Lucas Gore who has yet to play with Adirondack.

Gore played one season in Vernon (2007-08). In 27 games with the Vipers Gore went 14-8-1 with a 3.31 GAA before joining the Western Hockey League Chilliwack Bruins the following season.

Lucas Gores Player Profile:

This is posted on the Thunder website:



Glens Falls, NY – The Adirondack Thunder, proud ECHL affiliate of the Calgary Flames, announced today their protected list, consisting of 24 skaters and two goaltenders.

The Adirondack Thunder’s protected list is as follows:

Goaltenders (x2): Drew Fielding, Lucas Gore

Defensemen (x9): Patch Alber, Mike Bergin, Mathieu Brodeur, Mike Busillo, Ryan Constant, Luke Curadi, David Shields, Brad Stebner, Alex Wall.

Forwards (x15):  Rob Bordson, Alex Carrier, Kyle Flanagan, Dana Fraser, Hunter Garlent, James Henry, Gunnar Hughes, Peter MacArthur, Jack MacLellan, Carter Rigby, Vincent Scarsella, Jeff Silengo, Terrence Wallin, Klarc Wilson, Greg Wolfe

The Thunder’s protected list includes 19 players who skated with the Thunder during the 2015-16 season and one additional player, Hunter Garlent, who joined the team for the 2016 Kelly Cup Playoffs but did not appear in any game action. 16 of the 26 listed players were on Adirondack’s Kelly Cup Playoff roster and 13 appeared in Kelly Cup Playoff action, as the Thunder advanced to the Eastern Conference Semi Finals.

The remaining eight players from the Thunder’s playoff roster are not eligible to be protected as they were assigned to Adirondack on either NHL or AHL contracts. Goaltender Ken Appleby and forward Ben Johnson were assigned to the Thunder from New Jersey (NHL). Forwards Mitchell Heard, Michael Kirkpatrick, Ryan Lomberg and Louick Marcotte were assigned to Adirondack from Stockton (AHL), while Joe Faust was assigned from Albany (AHL).

ECHL teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2015-16 with the Member, and has not been traded or released.

2. Signed an SPC in 2015-16, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released.

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released.

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released.

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2015-16 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released.

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

The Thunder and all ECHL teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3:00 p.m. EST on June 13, in advance of the submission of season-ending rosters. All season-ending rosters are due to the ECHL by June 15, 2016. Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2015-16.

No comments: