Thursday, July 7, 2016

Rapid City Rush Add Viper Alumni Scofield To Teams Protected List:

The East Coast Hockey League announced their Protected Lists as submitted by each of its member teams. The Rapid City Rush have twenty five players listed on their protected list one is former Vernon Vipers for Tyler Scofield.

Scofield played in just six games with the Rush last season, before finishing the season with HC Thurgau, a Swiss professional ice hockey club based in Weinfelden, Switzerland, that was founded in 1989. After leaving the Rush in late January Scofield signed with HC Thurgau January 26th 2016.

Scofield played for three teams last season, first starting the 2015-16 season with the Erste Bank Eishockey Liga (EBEL) HC Tiroler Wasserkraft Innsbruck Sharks after signing with the Sharks May 4th 2015. The Sharks are an Austrian professional ice hockey team that currently plays in the Erste Bank Eishockey Liga hockey league (EBEL).  Scofield left Austria in January signing with the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) Rapid City Rush January 10th 2016. Scofield left the Rush after playing in just six games, to return to Europe, for an opportunity to play in Switzerland.

After four seasons at Bemidji State University Scofield has spent the past seven seasons playing in Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Switzerland & the US playing with eight different teams (HC Plzen, Klagenfurter AC, Graz 99ers, Ontario Reign, Grizzly Adams Wolfsburg, HC Innsbruck, Rapid City Rush & HC Thurgau) from 2009-2016.

Scofield played parts of two seasons in Vernon (2000-2002) before being traded to Prince George during the 2001-2002 season. The Vipers sent Scofield and Mark Nelson to the Spruce Kings in return for Rod Pelly, Dan Rossi & Josh Ciocco. In 79 games with the Vipers Scofield collected (21-goals-19-assists-40-points).

Tyler Scofield's Player Profile:

This is posted on the Rush website:



(RAPID CITY, SD) – The Rapid City Rush, proud ECHL affiliate of the NHL’s Arizona Coyotes, announced the team’s Protected List for the upcoming offseason in conjunction with the ECHL.

“This list is preliminary.  We’re protecting everyone that was on our roster last season,” said Rush Head Coach Mark DeSantis.  “We still have trades that need to be fulfilled with other teams both with players coming in and players going out, so that is what we’re preparing for with this list.”

The Rush Protected List is as follows:

GOALTENDERS (2): Danny Battochio, Sam Marotta

FORWARDS (15): Ryan Misiak, Winston Day Chief, Ryan Walters, Lindsay Sparks, Spencer Pommells, Josh MacDonald, Mikhail Stefanovich, Mark Miller, Jimmy Bonneau, Destry Straight, Zach Luczyk, Garrett Clarke, Tyler Scofield, Scott Brannon, Ludwig Karlsson

DEFENSEMEN (8): Jonathan Narbonne, Barrett Kaib, Brett Kostolansky, Brian O’Rourke, Anthony Mastrodicasa, Sean Erickson, Michael Young, Max Nicastro

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2015-16 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2015-16, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2015-16 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

In addition to the above, the ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15. Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2015-16.

Other Rush News:

Join Rush Nation for only $10 per game!  Call the Rush office at 716-7825 for details, and stay informed on all Rush happenings this summer through the official Rapid City Rush team website,, and the Rapid City Rush mobile app, available on iTunes and Google Play.

No comments: