Thursday, July 11, 2019

Newfoundland Growlers Add Ex Vernon Viper Skirving To Teams Protected List:

The ECHL announced their Protected Lists as submitted by each of its member teams. The Newfoundland Growlers have fourteen players listed on their protected list one is former Vernon Vipers forward Todd Skirving.

Skirving & the Growlers won the 2019 Kelly Cup defeating the Toledo Walleye in 6 games of the ECHL Finals. Newfoundland won the series 4 games to 2 winning the Kelly Cup in their first season in the ECHL. The Growlers are the first Canadian team in ECHL history to win the Kelly Cup. 

Skirving is in his first season in Newfoundland after signing with the Growlers October 16th 2018. In 26 games this season with the Growlers Skirving collected (3-goals-4-assists-7-points). Skirving went pointless in five playoff games.

Skirving spent four years at Rochester Institute Of Technology (RIT) before signing his first professional contract with the ECHL Orlando Solar Bears August 3rd 2017. Skirving spent the 2017-18 season with three different teams in the ECHL (Orlando Solar Bears, Utah Grizzlies & Atlanta Gladiators)

Skirving was recruited by the Vipers played just half a season in Vernon (2010-11) before being traded. The Prince George Spruce Kings traded Ryan Renz to Vernon January 10th 2011 for Todd Skirving & future considerations. In 34 regular season games with the Vipers Skirving collected (4-goals-5-assists-9-points).

This is posted on the ECHL website:

ECHL announces Protected Lists 

03 Jun 2019 

The ECHL on Monday announced the Protected Lists as submitted by each of its Member teams.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2018-19 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2018-19, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2018-19 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2018-19.

Newfoundland Growlers – Eric Levine, Michael Garteig, Mario Culina, Kyle Cumiskey, Adam Pardy, Garrett Johnston, Kristians Rubins, Evan Neugold, James Melindy, Ilya Nekolenko, Marcus Power, Todd Skirving, Semyon Babintsev and Maxim Mizyurin

No comments: