Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Viper Alumni Juha Named Candidate For 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award:

Former Vernon Vipers defenceman Luke Juha is one of nine Canadian Junior Hockey League alumni who were selected out of the twenty candidates for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate hockey.

Juha is in his fourth year at Penn State University, is also up for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award. Juha played one season in Vernon (2011-12) played in just ten games picking up two assists, due to two long term injuries that season. The Vipers acquired Juha from the OJHL Burlington Cougars on June 27th 2011 for future considerations.

 Luke Juha's Player Profile:

Nine CJHL Alumni named as candidates for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award

Feb 02, 2016 

CALGARY, Alberta (February 2, 2016) – Nine Canadian Junior Hockey League alumni were selected out of the twenty candidates for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate hockey.  Five of the alumni played at least some of their junior career in the BCHL, while three played in OJHL, three played in the CCHL and one played in AJHL.

Candidates are student-athletes that excel both on and off the ice and must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

Hockey 2015-16 Candidates (CJHL Alumni in Bold)

Name                                                     School                                                    CJHL League

Kyle Criscuolo                                      Harvard 
Ralph Cuddemi                                     Canisius College                                       OJHL
Simon Denis                                         Ferris State University                               BCHL
Theo Di Pauli von Treuheim                Union College
Steven Fogarty                                      University of Notre Dame                       BCHL
Andrew Gladiuk                                    Bentley University                                    BCHL
David Glen                                            Penn State                                                 AJHL
Christian Hilbrich                                  Cornell
Jake Hildebrand                                     Michigan State
Soren Jonzzon                                        Quinnipiac
Luke Juha                                               Penn State                                                OJHL/BCHL
Alexander Kuqali                                   RIT
Zac Lynch                                              Robert Morris University
Rob O’Gara                                            Yale University
Jamie Phillips                                         Michigan Tech                                     OJHL/CCHL/BCHL
Ethan Prow                                             St. Cloud State University
Tyson Spink                                            Colgate                                                   CCHL
Jimmy Vesey                                          Harvard
Travis Walsh                                           Michigan State
Tyson Wilson                                          Robert Morris University                      CCHL

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men’s Frozen Final Four® in April.

No comments: