Monday, June 23, 2014

CJHL Announces New Initiatives After Annual General Meeting:

This was posted on the BCHL website:

CJHL announces new initiatives after annual general meeting

Monday, June 2, 2014 - Submitted by CJHL Media

CALGARY, Alberta (June 1, 2014) – The Canadian Junior Hockey League held its Annual General Meeting on May 29th in Calgary, AB. The CJHL Board discussed several new initiatives designed to strengthen the national organization for its member leagues, teams and athletes.   Additionally, the CJHL would like to recognize the contributions and dedication of CJHL Vice President of Communications Charla Flett for all the work she had done on behalf of the organization.  She was greatly appreciated and will be sorely missed.

The CJHL will enter the 2014-2015 season with several new initiatives, including the following:

- The introduction of a Canadian Junior Hockey League All-Academic Team

- The introduction of ten $500 scholarships to be awarded to the All-Academic Team nominees

- 2016 RBC Cup awarded to Lloydminster, Alberta

- The hiring of a new Executive Director to run the day to day operations of the CJHL

- A new brand, communication & media strategy designed deliver the CJHL message and tag line, “Your FUTURE is here”

The CJHL serves on a number of Hockey Canada committees related to the development of hockey such as:

Hockey Canada Canadian Development Model Committee

USAH-HC Relations Committee

Non-Sanctioned Leagues Committee

Hockey Canada Hockey Violence and Sanctions Committee

Release Fee Committee

The CJHL will continue to be led by CJHL President and Chairman Kirk Lamb and the following representatives:

CJHL Management Committee: Ryan Bartoshyk (AJHL), John Grisdale (BCHL), Kevin Abrams (CCHL), Derryl Smith (MHL), Kirk Lamb (CJHL)

CJHL Treasurer: Rob Mazzuca (NOJHL)

CJHL Executive Director: Rick Morocco

The CJHL, in partnership with Hockey Canada, will host its premier events in Western Canada in 2014-2015. The 2014 World Junior A Challenge will be hosted by Kindersley, SK while Portage la Prairie, MB will be the host community for the 2015 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.

No comments: