Sunday, August 13, 2017

Ex Viper Chanter Named To Hockey East All-Academic Team:

Former Vernon Vipers defenceman Dylan Chanter was named to the 2016-17 Hockey East All-Academic Team.

Chanter will be entering his fourth season at the University of New Hampshire was named captain for the Wildcats for the upcoming season.

Chanter played parts of one season in Vernon (2013-14) after acquiring his rights from the Merritt Centennials on January 3rd 2014 for Jason Bird & future considerations (Logan Mick). Chanter went pointless in 19 games with the Vipers. In 37 games last season Chanter collected (1-goal-2-assists-3-points).

Dylan Chanter's Player Profile:

This was posted on the Wildcats website:

Men's and Women's Hockey Place 26 on Hockey East All-Academic Team

Academics | 6/29/2017

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – A combined total of 26 student-athletes from the University of New Hampshire men's and women's ice hockey teams were named to the 2016-17 Hockey East All-Academic Team on Wednesday. The women's team had 15 athletes receive this award while the men's team had 11.

All honorees achieved a grade point average of a 3.0 or better in both the fall 2016 and spring 2017 semesters. UNH's total of 26 student-athletes ranked third in Hockey East.

Abby Chapman (Beverly Hills, Mich.) and Kate Haslett (Rothesay, New Brunswick) were named to the women's All-Academic All-Star Team, which recognizes the top GPA by position. Both Wildcats recorded a perfect 4.0 in the 2016-17 academic year.

On the women's team, Haslett and Carlee Toews (Grand Prairie Alberta.) are three-time honorees. Four sophomores – Marie-Jo Pelletier (Dalhousie, New Brunswick), Jenna Rheault (Deering, N.H), Kyra Smith (Littleton, Colo.) and Taylor Wenczowski (Rochester, N.H) – received this honor for the second year in a row.

First-time honorees included senior Jonna Curtis (Elk River, Minn.) and juniors Julia Fedeski (Algonquin Highlands, Ontario) and Amy Schlagel (Blaine, Minn.), as well as freshmen Nicole Dunbar (Coto de Caza, Calif.), Tori Howran (Bancroft, Ontario), Meghara McManus (Milton, Mass.), Hannah Touzos (Foxboro, Mass.), Carlee Turner (Scottsdale, Ariz.) and Chapman.

For the men's team, senior captain Matias Cleland (Longmont, Colo.) was honored as a Distinguished Scholar, which recognizes student-athletes who maintained a 3.0 or better GPA every semester for four varsity seasons.

Four teammates – Adam Clark (Sherwood Park), Dylan Maller (Parkland, Fla.), Cameron Marks (North Vancouver, British Columbia), and Danny Tirone (Trumbull, Conn.) made the grade for the third year in a row. Dylan Chanter (Armstrong British Columbia) was honored for the second time.

Also of note, freshmen Liam Blackburn (Prince George, British Columbia), Justin Fregona (Mississauga, Ontario), Patrick Grasso (Ankeny, Iowa), Joe Lazzaro (Hampstead, N.H.) and Brendan van Riemsdyk (Middletown, N.J.) were honored in their first year as Wildcats.

The Hockey East Association is a 12-team Division-I men's college hockey conference founded in 1984. The association also sponsors a nine-team Division-I women's league that began play in 2002-03.

No comments: