Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Former Vernon Viper Hadley Named Top Academic Achiever:

The National Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHC) this week announced 98 student-athletes as top academic achievers in the 2015-16 season, one of was former Vernon Vipers forward Aaron Hadley.

Hadley finished his third year at Western Michigan spent almost three seasons with the Vipers (2010-2013) before being traded to Nanaimo at the BCHL trade deadline.  Vernon sent Hadley to the Clippers on January 10th 2013 for future considerations.  (Jordan Klimek and Michael McNicholas).  In 146 career games with the Vipers Hadley collected (38-goals-46-assists-84-points).  

Aaron Hadley's Player Profile:

This is posted on the NCHC website:

NCHC Recognizes 98 Student-Athletes for Academic Achievement in 2015-16



Ninety-eight earn Academic All-Conference; 33 collect Scholar-Athlete Team nod with 3.5 GPA or better

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – While student-athletes in the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) have certainly shown their ability to excel on the ice, many of them are also having success in the classroom as 98 student-athletes were named to the 2015-16 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, the conference announced Wednesday. Along with that, 33 of those 98 also garnered NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team honors.

In a change in policy from the first two seasons, the NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team now includes any student-athlete who has been at their institution for a full year and has achieved a 3.50 cumulative grade-point average or better. During the NCHC’s first two seasons, the Scholar-Athlete Team consisted of only eight members with one representing each school. Like in previous years, the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team recognizes any student-athlete that has accumulated a 3.0 GPA or better while having completed at least one year at their current institution.

Of the 33 student-athletes to receive NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team honors, 17 of them have posted a GPA north of 3.7, including four with a 3.9 GPA or higher. St. Cloud State sophomore defenseman Nathan Widman was the lone NCHC student-athlete with a perfect 4.0 GPA. Western Michigan led all NCHC schools with eight members on the Scholar-Athlete Team, while Omaha placed seven on the team and Denver had six student-athletes earn the accolade.

Among the 98 Academic All-Conference Team members, six schools placed at least 13 student-athletes on the team, led by St. Cloud State’s 16. Omaha was right behind with 15 members while Denver and Miami each produced 14 student-athletes on the team. The 98 members of the team are one more than the 97 student-athletes that made up the 2014-15 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team.

While freshmen are not currently eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference or Scholar-Athlete Teams, those freshmen that achieve a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better at the conclusion of the 2015-16 academic year, will be added to the Academic All-Conference Team by the conference over the summer. Similarly, any freshmen who compile a 3.5 GPA or better will earn Scholar-Athlete Team honors.

The 2015-16 NCHC Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 17 in Minneapolis, Minn. on the eve of the Frozen Faceoff.

All 98 members of the 2015-16 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team are listed below by school, with those also earning NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team distinction in bold.


Zach Aman
Hunter Fejes
Luc Gerdes
Matt Hansen
Michael King
Peter Maric
Alex Roos
Sam Rothstein


Will Butcher
Evan Cowley
Brad Hawkinson
Evan Janssen
Rudy Junda
Gabe Levin
Matt Marcinew
Greg Ogard
Adam Plant
Evan Ritt
Emil Romig
Quentin Shore
Matt VanVoorhis
Nolan Zajac


Louie Belpedio
Scott Dornbrock
Alex Gacek
Justin Greenberg
Sean Kuraly
Conor Lemirande
Devin Loe
Michael Mooney
Kevin Morris
Taylor Richart
Andrew Schmit
Colin Sullivan
Jay Williams
Johnny Wingels


Tony Cameranesi
Cal Decowski
Austin Farley
Alex Iafallo
Brenden Kotyk
Karson Kuhlman
Dan Molenaar
Willie Raskob
Charlie Sampair
Carson Soucy
Sammy Spurrell
Jared Thomas
Dominic Toninato


Matt Hrynkiw
Cam Johnson
Austin Poganski
Tucker Poolman
Johnny Simonson


Ian Brady
Brian Cooper
Grant Gallo
Jake Guentzel
Tanner Lane
Joel Messner
Luke Nogard
Austin Ortega
Justin Parizek
Aaron Pearce
David Pope
Jake Randolph
Luc Snuggerud
Kirk Thompson
Tyler Vesel


Joey Benik
Mika Ilvonen
Kalle Kossila
Charlie Lindgren
David Morley
Jimmy Murray
Niklas Nevalainen
Ryan Papa
Judd Peterson
Ethan Prow
Rasmus Reijola
Patrick Russell
Ben Storm
Daniel Tedesco
Nathan Widman
Blake Winiecki


John Carpino
Chris Dienes
Sheldon Dries
Taylor Fleming
Neal Goff
Aaron Hadley
Lukas Hafner
Scott Moldenhauer
Aidan Muir
Willem Nong-Lambert
J.T. Osborn
Paul Stoykewych
Frederik Tiffels

No comments: