Thursday, February 18, 2016

Ex Vipers Defenceman Juha Up For Hobey Baker Memorial Award:

Former Vernon Vipers defenceman Luke Juha is up for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

Juha is in his fourth year at Penn State University, played one season in Vernon (2011-12). Juha played in just ten games picking up two assists, due to two long term injuries that season. The Vipers acquired Juha from the OJHL Burlington Cougars on June 27th 2011 for future considerations.

Luke Juha's Player Profile:

This is posted on the BCHL website:

11 BCHL grads up for Hobey Baker Memorial Award

January 20 2016

There are 11 BCHL alumni up for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, as announced by the voting committee today.

Given annually to the top player in NCAA men’s hockey, the Hobey Baker recognizes players for their excellence on the ice but also for their academic achievement and community contributions.

At this stage of the process, there are 66 players eligible and fans can vote once per day for their choice via the Hobey Baker Facebook page.

BCHL alums up for votes right now are:

Name NCAA program BCHL Team(s) Hometown

Michael Garteig Quinnipiac Powell River Kings, Penticton Vees Prince George, B.C.

Danton Heinen Denver Surrey Eagles Langley, B.C.

Mario Puskarich Vermont Langley Rivermen Fort Walton Beach, Fla

Luke Juha Penn State Vernon Vipers Mississauga, Ont.

Max French Bentley West Kelowna Warriors West Kelowna, B.C.

Mitch Gillam Cornell Chilliwack Chiefs Peterborough, Ont.

Tyler Morley Alaska Surrey Eagles Burnaby, B.C.

Kevin Boyle UMass-Lowell West Kelowna Warriors Manalapan, NJ

Alex Petan Michigan Tech Coquitlam Express Delta, B.C.

Jordan Masters Arizona State West Kelowna Warriors Rochester, NY

Jamie Phillips Michigan Tech Powell River Kings Caledonia, Ont.

Criteria for choosing the finalists are weighted with fan voting accounting for a minority percentage. The list will be narrowed to 10 finalists as the road to the NCAA Frozen Four begins. A ‘Hobey Hat Trick’ of three players will be announced after that with the winner ultimately being named during the Frozen Four, happening this year from April 7 to 9 at Tampa Bay Times Forum.

Former BCHLers to win the Hobey Baker Memorial Award are Ryan Duncan (North Dakota, 2007), Jason Krog (New Hampshire, 1999), Brendan Morrison (Michigan, 1997) and Paul Kariya (Maine, 1993). Other notable names to win are Neal Broten (1981), George McPhee (1982), Chris Drury (1998), Ryan Miller (2001), Matt Carle (2006), Johnny Gaudreau (2014) and Jack Eichel (2015).

No comments: