Thursday, June 30, 2016

Mallards Add Ex Vernon Viper Eviston To Teams Protected List:

The East Coast Hockey League announced their Protected Lists as submitted by each of its member teams. The Quad City Mallards have twenty one players listed on their protected list one is former Vernon Vipers forward Pearce Eviston.

Eviston has spent the past two seasons with the Mallards, played In only 2 games last season going pointless.

Eviston didnt play hockey in 2013-14 before returning in September 2014. Eviston started the 2014-15 season in Idaho after signing a try-out contract with the East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) Idaho Steelheads. Eviston attended the Steelheads Training Camp but never played a game, was released on October 13th 2014. Eviston then an unrestricted free agent signed with Idaho on October 22nd 2014 before being traded to Quad City on the same day. 

Eviston played parts of one season in Vernon (2012-13). The Vipers acquired the playing rights of Eviston from the Victoria Grizzlies on Seprember 19th 2011 for Jarryd Ten Vaanholt. Eviston currently playing with the WHL Portland Winterhawks at the time of the trade, joined & signed with the Vipers on August 3rd 2012. Eviston played in 34 regular season games with Vernon before being sent home. The Vipers ended up trading Eviston to Victoria on January 10th 2013 for future considerations.

Pearce Eviston's Player Profile:

This is posted on the Mallards website:


By: Mallards Communications Staff


The Quad City Mallards today announced a 21-man protected list. Placing players on the Mallards’ protected list is the start of the process used to reserve the rights to players for the 2016-17 season.

 The Mallards have protected 14 forwards: Olivier Archambault, Kyle Beach, Anthony Collins, Trevor Cox, Pearce Eviston, Justin Fox, Kevin Henderson, Jordan Knackstedt, Mario Lamoureux, Jeff Lee, Matt Neal, Vladimir Nikiforov, Brent Tate and Sam Warning; five defensemen: Jake Baker, Austin Coldwell, Kevin Gibson, Darren McMillan and Mike Monfredo; one forward/defenseman: Kyle Follmer; and one goaltender: Even Mosher.
 Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the collective bargaining agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:
 1. Signed a standard player contract in 2015-16 with the member team, and has not been traded or released, OR
 2. Signed an SPC in 2015-16, and was recalled to the National Hockey League/American Hockey League or International Ice Hockey Federation team, and has not been traded or released, OR
 3. Had received a qualifying offer last summer for the current season, did not sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR
 4. Has been suspended by the member team or the ECHL, and has not been traded or released, OR
 5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2015-16 regular season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR
 6. Has executed the ECHL retirement form, and has not been traded or released.
 The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all future consideration trades by 2 p.m. CT on June 13 and that teams must submit their season-ending roster by 2 p.m. CT on June 15.
 Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2015-16.
 The Mallards will open their twentieth season in the Quad Cities on Friday, October 14 at 7:05 p.m. against the Fort Wayne Komets at the iWireless Center. Mallards 2016-17 season tickets are now available. Season ticket holders enjoy significant savings of the walk-up ticket price and receive a host of exclusive benefits. For more season ticket information, fans can contact the Mallards at 309-277-1364 or

No comments: